These Were Your Father's

£9.99

Hegley, John

11/03/1999 | Paperback |

ISBN: 9780413773203


About These Were Your Father's

 

These Were Your Father's, John Hegley's fourth volume of poems, continues to explore the author's preoccupation with gods, dogs, dads and spectacles; the major addition to the list is life around the campfire, which is tackled in a longer drama concerning John, his friend Tony, his dog Hermann and their bicycles. Elsewhere, buses, trains, rains, Romans and rice grains are featured in the poems which are usually comic and, where possible, poignant also. There is a persistent autobiographical strand, as well as a sprinkling of the author's line drawings and some surprises which it is best not to spoil by telling you about in this bit.

Comedy's poet laureate

Independent

Scandalously talented

Sunday Times

One of the funniest men alive … he's in the tradition of Edward Lear, Stevie Smith, Ivor Cutler and Roger McGough

New Statesman

An artistic phenomenon

The Times

Author(s)
 

John Hegley

John Hegley performs live at venues all over Britain, including at the Edinburgh Festival. He appears on television and radio and his poems are featured regularly in The Guardian. He has published numerous volumes of poetry.

His various media appearances include Wogan, Ross, Anderson, a mention on Brookside, two John Peel sessions with musical outfit The Popticians, They Think It's All Over and a host of others. He has also been the subject of a BBC Radio 4 series Hearing With Hegley.

He has been awarded an honorary Doctorate of Letters from the University of Luton, in which town he grew up. He accompanies some of his verses on the mandolin. He has worked on buses and in a social security office, a hospital and a rag-cleaning factory, but it is the theatre he loves best.


Reviews

Also by Hegley, John

Book IdCategory IdTitleSub TitlePublication DatePagesPublishedBest SellerActiveDescriptionISBNPriceBook Contributors NamesBook Contributors DetailsWeightBlob ImageFile ExtensionMedia TypeFormatPrint StatusEditionDisplay Order
Paperback

£9.99

Beyond Our Kennel

Paperback

£8.99

Dog

Paperback

£12.99

The Family Pack

Paperback

£9.99

Five Sugars Please

Paperback

£9.99

Love Cuts

Paperback

£7.99

The Sound of Paint Drying

Paperback

£9.99

Uncut Confetti